KU Leuven Association

The KU Leuven Association is a dynamic network of higher education institutions in Flanders and Brussels. The network consists:

Four University Colleges:

  • UC Leuven-Limburg (UCLL)
  • Odisee
  • Thomas More
  • Vives

One School of Arts:

  • LUCA School of Arts 

One University:

  • KU Leuven

The KU Leuven Association was founded in 2002 in response to the Bologna Declaration of 1999, which sought to increase synchronisation of higher education in Europe. The alliance was specifically consolidated around the Catholic identity of the partner institutions. In total more than 107.000 students are enrolled in one of the 6 Catholic Flemish institutions of higher education, representing almost half of all students in higher education in all Flanders, distributed over 23 campuses across Flanders and Brussels, guided by 22.000 staff members.

The KU Leuven Association has a rich history of cooperation. As an open and ambitious network it strives to provide high quality, inclusive, and future-proof higher education. The network’s activities focuses around three core pillars: 10 strategic priorities, legal responsibilities and joint services & expertise.

The Association members strengthen each other by exchanging expertise and pooling resources, which enables them to improve the quality of their teaching and research. Within the dynamics of the Catholic tradition, the association aims to create a versatile and hospitable open space in which the dignity of each person is done justice. It aim to provide training opportunities for people who can give expert, critical, sustainable and caring contributions today and in the future to our societies with respect for differences and responsibilities, and a special focus to the vulnerable.

Supported Institutions in the Region